UK Punishes Russian Parliamentarians for Role in Ukraine War

0 31,410

The United Kingdom punishes 386 members of the Russian lower house for their role in the war in Ukraine. They are subject to an entry ban. Also, their assets in the UK are frozen, and they are no longer allowed to do business there.


Not all members of the Duma are subject to sanctions. It is only about the politicians who voted to recognize Donetsk and Luhansk as independent states and allowed Russia to become militarily active there in the run-up to the invasion.

“We are targeting those who are complicit in Putin’s invasion of Ukraine and those who support his barbaric war,” said Foreign Secretary Liz Truss.

She also said that she would continue to increase pressure on the Russian economy through sanctions. The British sanctions list now contains the names of more than 800 Russians.

Leave A Reply