EU Countries are Expelling Russian Diplomats in Retaliation

EU Countries are Expelling Russian Diplomats in Retaliation

In retaliation for the expulsion of diplomats by Russia, three Member States of the European Union declared a Russian diplomat an undesirable person.


The move is not entirely unexpected after the fuss about Moscow’s decision.

Germany, Sweden and Poland announced simultaneously that they would each expel a Russian diplomat.

They are outraged that Russia announced on Friday that it would expel a German, Swedish and Polish diplomat for allegedly participating in demonstrations for the imprisoned Russian opposition leader Navalny.

According to Berlin, the German embassy employee exercised his right to inform himself on the spot. Stockholm and Warsaw also call Moscow’s decision unjustified.

Extra spicy was that the Russian measure was announced during Friday’s controversial visit of EU foreign chief Borrell to Moscow. Observers spoke of an outright insult to the top EU diplomat.

He had just come to Russia to try to smooth out the folds between the Russians and Brussels, after mounting tensions about Kremlin critic Navalny’s fate, among other things.

Leave a Reply